SaltWire E-Edition

1993 Acadia Axemen ~ Hockey


The Axemen of 1992-93 were one of the most dominant university hockey teams ever to play in this country. Acadia became the first Nova Scotia school to win the Canadian university hockey championship, steamrolling the University of Toronto 12-1 on March 21, 1993. Axemen players received 10 awards of MVP or all-star at either the conference or national level during the season, and four of these were awarded to the team’s Nova Scotia-born members. Coach Tom Coolen was named CIAU Coach of the Year and captain George Dupont was named a CIAU All-Canadian.

Team members: Sean O’Reilly, Scott Gallant, Rob Ryan, Mark Pound, Colin Gregor, Ken Cullihall, Denis Sproxton, Paul Sutcliffe, Malcolm Cameron, Norm Batherson, Morgan Mann, Jeff MacLeod, Sean Rowe, Kevin Knopp, George Dupont, Duane Dennis, Milan Dragicevic, Mark McFarlane, Craig Fraser, Arnie Caplan, Derek Kletzel, Brent Presswood, Darren Burns, Scott Farrell, Tom Coolen (head coach), Mark Hanneman (assistant coach), Mike Alcoe

(assistant coach), Jan

Hooper (athletic therapist),

Mike Smith

(manager), and

Dave Beech,

Rocky Randall,

Pete Sheehan

(equipment managers).





SaltWire Network